Alternatives Hub

Find the right barber booking system

Compare the leading barber booking platforms by what matters most to your business.

Built for independent UK barbershops that want more control, clearer costs and a stronger brand.

Published by KERSIVO · Last updated

What matters to you?

Choose your priorities to see which platforms match your barbershop.

0 of 12 selected 11 systems

Start by choosing what matters to you. No priorities are preselected.

Scores count only features confirmed in official sources for the priorities you select. Partial and not-verified features are shown but never counted as matches. How matching works

6 of 11 systems shown. Select priorities to see match scores.

Booksy

Booking app with a large consumer marketplace.

No priorities selected

Booking software combined with the Booksy Marketplace, customer app and optional Boost promotion.

Pricing From £40/month + VAT, plus £5 per additional user.

Choose priorities to see confirmed matches and unknowns.

  • 0% commission : Partial. Standard Marketplace bookings are free; optional Boost charges a one-time new-client fee.
  • Own website / domain : Partial. Booking widget for an existing website; own-domain website not stated.
  • Client data export : Partial. Client list is requested from Booksy Support; format and fields not stated.
  • Built for barbers : Not verified. Not established from the official sources we checked.
  • Bigger teams : Yes. Additional users can be added for a monthly fee per user.
  • Deposits : Yes. Deposits and cancellation fees via Booksy Mobile Payments.
  • Retail / add-ons : Yes. Add-ons can be offered during online booking.
  • Migration help : Not verified. Not established from the official sources we checked.
  • Branded experience : Partial. Booksy Profile and widget; the journey sits within the Booksy platform.
  • SMS reminders : Partial. Appointment reminders are included; the SMS channel is not confirmed for reminders.
  • UK-focused : Yes. UK pricing and payment rates are published.
  • Low monthly cost : Yes. Base subscription £40/month before VAT.

Fresha

Booking platform with a large consumer marketplace.

No priorities selected

Salon and barber booking software with the Fresha Marketplace, Fresha Payments and paid add-ons.

Pricing From £14.95/month + VAT for one team member.

Choose priorities to see confirmed matches and unknowns.

  • 0% commission : Partial. Direct bookings are free; a new-client fee applies to eligible Marketplace bookings.
  • Own website / domain : Partial. Smart website is a paid add-on; own-domain inclusion not stated.
  • Client data export : Yes. Documented client list export formats.
  • Built for barbers : Not verified. Not established from the official sources we checked.
  • Bigger teams : Yes. Team plan priced per bookable team member.
  • Deposits : Yes. Deposit and payment policies via Fresha Payments.
  • Retail / add-ons : Yes. Online product store with shipping or in-store pickup (requires Fresha Payments).
  • Migration help : Not verified. Not established from the official sources we checked.
  • Branded experience : Partial. Direct booking links; they require a listed Marketplace profile.
  • SMS reminders : Partial. Text notifications are documented; inclusion in the plan price was not assessed.
  • UK-focused : Yes. UK plan prices and payment rates are published.
  • Low monthly cost : Yes. Independent plan £14.95/month before VAT.

Nearcut

Barber-focused online booking service.

No priorities selected

Barber booking with a free plan funded by client booking charges, or a quoted subscription.

Pricing Free for You £0/month (client booking charge applies); Subscription by quote.

Choose priorities to see confirmed matches and unknowns.

  • 0% commission : Partial. 0% commission on service price, but Free for You adds a client-paid booking charge.
  • Own website / domain : Partial. Personalised booking website; Subscription offers a custom website. Domain not stated.
  • Client data export : Not verified. Not established from the official sources we checked.
  • Built for barbers : Yes. A barber-focused online booking service.
  • Bigger teams : Partial. Staff schedules supported; Subscription priced by barber count on quote.
  • Deposits : Yes. Optional online deposits and payments.
  • Retail / add-ons : Partial. Product sales available as an optional booster.
  • Migration help : Not verified. Not established from the official sources we checked.
  • Branded experience : Yes. Personalised booking website included in its plans.
  • SMS reminders : Yes. SMS reminders for online bookings on Free for You.
  • UK-focused : Yes. UK (en-GB) pricing is published.
  • Low monthly cost : Yes. Free for You is £0/month; clients pay a booking charge.

Treatwell

Hair and beauty marketplace with salon software.

No priorities selected

Marketplace visibility plus Treatwell Connect software; commission applies to eligible new marketplace clients.

Pricing Commission on eligible new marketplace clients; no universal monthly price published.

Choose priorities to see confirmed matches and unknowns.

  • 0% commission : Partial. 0% on repeat and direct bookings; commission on eligible new marketplace clients.
  • Own website / domain : Partial. Booking widgets for an existing website; own-domain website not stated.
  • Client data export : Not verified. Not established from the official sources we checked.
  • Built for barbers : Partial. Hair and beauty software that includes men’s grooming.
  • Bigger teams : Yes. Team management and staff calendars.
  • Deposits : Partial. Online prepayment is documented; deposits are not named explicitly.
  • Retail / add-ons : Yes. POS and product sales capabilities.
  • Migration help : Not verified. Not established from the official sources we checked.
  • Branded experience : Partial. Widgets and a marketplace listing rather than a bespoke shop site.
  • SMS reminders : Partial. Reminders are documented; the SMS channel is not confirmed.
  • UK-focused : Yes. UK pricing and payment terms are published.
  • Low monthly cost : Not verified. No universal monthly subscription price is published.

Timely

Salon, beauty and wellness software.

No priorities selected

Feature-rich appointment software billed per staff member, with TimelyPay payments.

Pricing Billed per staff member; UK GBP price not published.

Choose priorities to see confirmed matches and unknowns.

  • 0% commission : Yes. Timely states no new-client fees; card processing is charged separately.
  • Own website / domain : Partial. Mini website available; website scope and domain terms not confirmed.
  • Client data export : Partial. Data export is requested via Timely support.
  • Built for barbers : Partial. Designed for salon, beauty and wellness businesses.
  • Bigger teams : Yes. Staff-seat subscription model with team tools.
  • Deposits : Yes. TimelyPay supports deposits in supported markets.
  • Retail / add-ons : Yes. Stock-level management is advertised.
  • Migration help : Not verified. Not established from the official sources we checked.
  • Branded experience : Partial. Branded booking options alongside a mini website.
  • SMS reminders : Partial. Messaging availability varies by plan; SMS overage rates apply.
  • UK-focused : Partial. UK TimelyPay rates are published; UK GBP plan prices are not.
  • Low monthly cost : Not verified. Public prices are in USD; a UK GBP price is not published.

Phorest

Established salon management platform.

No priorities selected

Salon software with CRM, marketing, POS and retail, sold through personalised quotes.

Pricing Personalised quote; no universal UK monthly price published.

Choose priorities to see confirmed matches and unknowns.

  • 0% commission : Not verified. Booking commission is not stated; payment fees vary by commercial terms.
  • Own website / domain : Partial. Website booking supported; website and domain arrangements are confirmed in the quote.
  • Client data export : Partial. Client export methods documented, with exclusions and an export-charge caveat.
  • Built for barbers : Partial. A salon platform that also serves barbershops.
  • Bigger teams : Yes. Unlimited staff on its plans.
  • Deposits : Yes. Custom deposit amounts and booking rules.
  • Retail / add-ons : Yes. POS, stock and retail tools.
  • Migration help : Not verified. Not established from the official sources we checked.
  • Branded experience : Partial. Branded booking app on higher plans.
  • SMS reminders : Partial. SMS reminders charged at published per-message rates.
  • UK-focused : Yes. UK (/gb/) pricing and features pages.
  • Low monthly cost : Not verified. Pricing is by personalised quote.

Setora

UK booking software for shops and salons.

No priorities selected

One published subscription per location with unlimited staff and direct booking.

Pricing £59/month per location, unlimited staff.

Choose priorities to see confirmed matches and unknowns.

  • 0% commission : Yes. 0% booking commission and no added customer booking charge; Stripe fees separate.
  • Own website / domain : Partial. Assisted custom domains; whether the domain itself is included is not established.
  • Client data export : Yes. Customer CSV export.
  • Built for barbers : Partial. Barbershop-specific tools within software for shops and salons.
  • Bigger teams : Yes. Unlimited staff with no per-staff fees.
  • Deposits : Yes. Optional deposits and online payments via Stripe.
  • Retail / add-ons : Not verified. Not established from the official sources we checked.
  • Migration help : Partial. Supported CSV/Excel imports with mapping review.
  • Branded experience : Yes. Shop Website and Booking Page for your shop.
  • SMS reminders : Partial. Automated reminders; SMS credits are charged separately.
  • UK-focused : Yes. UK pricing on setora.co.uk.
  • Low monthly cost : No. £59/month per location, above the £40 threshold.

Square Appointments

Appointments within the Square payments ecosystem.

No priorities selected

Scheduling with Square payments, point of sale and hardware, from a free single-location plan.

Pricing Free £0; Plus £29 and Premium £69 per location/month.

Choose priorities to see confirmed matches and unknowns.

  • 0% commission : Not verified. A booking commission is not stated; card processing fees apply.
  • Own website / domain : Partial. Free Square Online website option; own-domain inclusion not stated.
  • Client data export : Yes. Customer Directory CSV export.
  • Built for barbers : Partial. General business platform with a dedicated barbershop solution.
  • Bigger teams : Yes. Unlimited staff calendars on all plans.
  • Deposits : Yes. Fixed or percentage deposits on all plans.
  • Retail / add-ons : Yes. Square point of sale for product sales.
  • Migration help : Not verified. Not established from the official sources we checked.
  • Branded experience : Partial. Customisable Square booking site.
  • SMS reminders : Yes. Automated email and text reminders on the Free plan.
  • UK-focused : Yes. UK pricing and fee schedule published.
  • Low monthly cost : Yes. Free plan £0/month for a single location.

SQUIRE

Barbershop management platform.

No priorities selected

Barbershop booking, payments and POS; UK GBP pricing is not publicly verified.

Pricing UK GBP pricing not verified

Choose priorities to see confirmed matches and unknowns.

  • 0% commission : Not verified. Platform or booking fees for UK shops are not established; do not assume zero.
  • Own website / domain : Partial. Optional branded landing page add-on on higher plans; domain not stated.
  • Client data export : Partial. Client transfer listed on the Pro plan; export format not stated.
  • Built for barbers : Yes. Built for barbers and barbershops.
  • Bigger teams : Yes. Multiple barber accounts and multi-location plans.
  • Deposits : Partial. Online payments, pre-payments and no-show protection; deposits not named explicitly.
  • Retail / add-ons : Yes. In-shop POS, with inventory on higher plans.
  • Migration help : Not verified. Not established from the official sources we checked.
  • Branded experience : Partial. Branded app and landing page on higher plans or as add-ons.
  • SMS reminders : Yes. Automated email and SMS reminders listed in plan features.
  • UK-focused : Yes. UK service entity and live UK barbershop listings.
  • Low monthly cost : Not verified. Public prices are in USD; a UK GBP price is not verified.

Vagaro

Beauty, wellness and fitness booking platform.

No priorities selected

Booking software priced per bookable calendar, with marketplace and promotional booking programmes.

Pricing £20/month displayed for one calendar (discounted; VAT unresolved).

Choose priorities to see confirmed matches and unknowns.

  • 0% commission : Partial. Acquisition fee on qualifying new clients from marketplace channels; optional Fill My Books fees.
  • Own website / domain : Partial. MySite website builder is a paid add-on; domain not stated.
  • Client data export : Yes. Customer list export as Excel or PDF.
  • Built for barbers : Partial. A broad beauty, wellness and fitness platform.
  • Bigger teams : Yes. Additional bookable calendars; published price for seven or more.
  • Deposits : Not verified. Not established from the official sources we checked.
  • Retail / add-ons : Yes. Inventory and retail features are included.
  • Migration help : Not verified. Not established from the official sources we checked.
  • Branded experience : Partial. Booking widgets for your own website.
  • SMS reminders : Partial. Automated reminders; SMS terms vary.
  • UK-focused : Yes. UK pricing and card rates are published.
  • Low monthly cost : Partial. £20/month is a displayed discount price; VAT basis unresolved.

How this comparison works

This comparison is published by KERSIVO, which is one of the platforms compared. It is not an independent ranking. Each competitor fact comes from that provider’s official public pages, checked on the date shown in the sources below. KERSIVO facts come from our current pricing and product terms.

The match score counts how many of your selected priorities a platform meets with a confirmed “Yes”. Partial or conditional features and features we could not verify are shown on every card but never counted as matches, and an unverified feature is never treated as a “No”. KERSIVO is always shown first because it is our platform; competitors are ordered by match score, then partial matches, then unverified features.

  • Yes — confirmed in official sources
  • Partial — conditional, add-on or plan-dependent
  • No — confirmed not to meet the definition
  • Not verified — not established from sources we checked
Criteria definitions
0% platform commission
Whether the platform takes a commission or adds a booking fee on bookings. Normal card payment-processing fees are excluded and assessed separately. Yes: No platform commission and no added booking fee on any booking channel for the compared plan. Partial: 0% on direct bookings, but a marketplace new-client commission, optional promotion fee or client-paid booking fee can apply.
Own domain / website
Whether bookings can live on your own website and your own domain. Yes: A shop website on your own domain is included in the compared plan. Partial: A website builder, mini site or booking widget for an existing website is available, but domain inclusion is not confirmed or costs extra.
Client data export
Whether the official documentation describes exporting your client list. This compares documented export capability, not legal ownership claims. Yes: A documented client-list export in a stated format (for example CSV or Excel). Partial: Export exists but the format or fields are not stated, it is restricted by plan, or it carries caveats or charges.
Built for barbershops
Whether the product is positioned specifically for barbers and barbershops. Yes: The product is positioned specifically for barbers or barbershops. Partial: A broader salon, beauty or general business platform that also serves barbershops.
Good for bigger teams
Whether published plans support five or more bookable team members at one location. Yes: Published support for five or more bookable staff (per-seat pricing may apply). Partial: Team scheduling exists, but published team limits or pricing are unclear.
Booking deposits
Whether clients can be asked to pay a deposit when booking online. Yes: Online booking deposits are documented. Partial: Online prepayment or no-show protection is documented, but deposits are not named explicitly.
Retail / add-on sales
Whether you can sell products, add-ons, packages or gift cards through the platform. Yes: Product, add-on or retail sales are documented. Partial: Retail is available only as a paid add-on, a higher plan or with unclear scope.
Migration assistance
Whether the provider documents help moving from your current booking system. Yes: Migration assistance from your current system is included. Partial: Self-serve import tools are documented, without included hands-on assistance.
Branded booking experience
Whether clients book through an experience presented under your shop’s brand. Yes: A booking website or page presented under your shop’s brand is included. Partial: Branding is possible through widgets, profiles or higher plans, or the booking journey sits alongside a marketplace profile.
SMS reminders
Whether automated SMS appointment reminders are available. Yes: Automated SMS reminders are included in the plan price (a monthly allowance is acceptable). Partial: SMS reminders are charged per message, or reminders exist but the SMS channel is not confirmed.
UK market support
Whether the platform publishes UK-specific pricing, payments or service for UK shops. Yes: UK-specific pricing pages, payments or a UK service entity are published. Partial: The platform operates in the UK, but UK pricing is not published.
Affordable monthly pricing
Whether a published GBP entry plan costs £40/month or less for one location, before VAT. Quote-only or non-GBP pricing is shown as not verified. Yes: A published GBP entry price of £40/month or less for one location, before VAT. Partial: A qualifying price is displayed, but it is a promotional price or its VAT basis is unresolved.

How to choose booking software for your barbershop

  • Total monthly cost. Price the plan for your real team size. Some platforms charge per barber or calendar, others per location, and VAT may be added on top.
  • Commissions and processing fees. Check whether the platform takes a commission on any bookings, especially new clients from a marketplace, and compare card-processing rates separately.
  • Booking experience. Clients should be able to book in a few taps, see real availability and get confirmations and reminders.
  • Team size. Make sure the plan supports every bookable barber and the staff permissions you need.
  • Brand control. Decide whether clients should book on your own website and domain or inside a third-party app.
  • Client data. Confirm how you can export your client list and booking history, and in what format.
  • Deposits. Deposits and card-on-file policies reduce no-shows; check what each plan allows.
  • Switching. Ask what help is included to move clients, services and future appointments.

Marketplace bookings vs your own branded website

Marketplace apps can put your shop in front of people searching nearby, which can help a new or quiet shop fill gaps. The trade-off is that clients book inside someone else’s platform, next to other shops, and some marketplaces charge a commission when they introduce a new client.

A branded website on your own domain keeps the booking journey, your reviews and your regulars under your name, and there is no marketplace commission to pay. You rely more on your own channels — Google, Instagram, QR codes and word of mouth — to bring clients in.

Many shops use both: a marketplace for discovery and their own site for regulars. Full KERSIVO (£39/month per location) is built for the own-brand approach, with your website and standard domain included.

FAQ

Questions about choosing barber booking software

Straight answers on commission, payment fees, domains, team size, switching and client data.

What should UK barbers look for in booking software?

Start with total monthly cost for your team size, then check commissions on bookings, card-processing rates, deposits and no-show protection, whether bookings live on your own website and domain, how easily you can export client data, and what help you get when switching. A barbershop-specific workflow and SMS reminders also matter for day-to-day running.

Does 0% commission mean no payment-processing fees?

No. 0% commission means the platform takes no percentage of your bookings. Card payment-processing fees are separate and charged by the payment provider. KERSIVO takes 0% commission on Starter and Full KERSIVO. Standard Stripe payment-processing fees still apply. Some marketplaces also charge a one-time commission when they bring you a new client.

Can I use my own domain for online bookings?

With Full KERSIVO (£39/month per location) your branded barbershop website and one standard domain are included. Many other platforms offer a booking widget, profile page or paid website add-on instead; check each provider’s current terms for whether a custom domain is included.

Which booking systems support larger barber teams?

Most established platforms support multiple staff, but pricing differs: some charge per team member or calendar, others per location. Full KERSIVO is priced per location and supports more than 4 bookable barbers subject to reasonable fair use; KERSIVO Starter supports up to 4 active bookable barbers.

What should I check before switching from Booksy or Fresha?

Check your notice period and any outstanding contract terms, export your client list and future appointments, note any deposits or prepaid packages in progress, and plan how you will tell regular clients about your new booking link. Keep your existing system live until your new booking page is ready.

Can I move my client data to another booking platform?

Most platforms document some form of client export, but formats and processes differ — some are self-serve CSV or Excel exports, others are requested through support. With KERSIVO you may request a free CSV export containing first name, surname where stored, email, phone number and booking history. Full KERSIVO includes migration assistance from your current booking system.


OWN YOUR BRAND. OWN YOUR BOOKINGS.

Ready to see if KERSIVO fits your shop?

Start KERSIVO Starter at £0/month, or choose Full KERSIVO for £39/month per location when you want your own website, domain and payment control. 0% KERSIVO commission on both plans.

Sources & comparison notes

Prices and features change. Each platform below was checked against its official public sources on the date shown. Confirm current terms with each provider before you decide. Page last updated 8 October 2026.

Booksy, Fresha, Nearcut, Treatwell, Timely, Phorest, Setora, Square Appointments, SQUIRE and Vagaro are trademarks of their respective owners. KERSIVO is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by any of these platforms. This comparison is published by KERSIVO and reflects publicly available information; it is not an independent review or rating.